Benton County, Oregon

Making Benton County a Better Place to Live
Printed on Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:11 PM

Benton County Elected Officials

Part of what makes Benton County a better place to live are elected officials that work to strike a balance between preserving natural resources while developing building and recreation sites, and who help develop the infrastructure that keeps our residents safe and healthy.

Commissioner Linda Modrell, Chair

Commissioner Linda ModrellLinda Modrell, first elected to serve as Benton County Commissioner in 1999, was re-elected in 2002, 2006 and 2010. Before running for elective office Modrell worked several years in the health policy field, including on the team that developed Oregon's Health Plan. Read more…

Visit the Board of Commissioners Web page.

Sheriff Scott Jackson

Sheriff Scott JacksonScott Jackson was appointed Sheriff by the Board of Commissioners in 2013, replacing the retiring Diana Simpson. Jackson started with the county in 1995 as a corrections deputy, rising to lieutenant and being named jail commander in 2006. Read more…

Visit the Sheriff's Office Web page.


Commissioner Jay Dixon, Vice-Chair

Commissioner Jay DixonJay Dixon, an effective community leader with experience in government, industry, education and civic organizations, was first elected Benton County Commissioner in November 2000. Read more…

Visit the Board of Commissioners Web page.

District Attorney John Haroldson

District Attorney John HaroldsonJohn M. Haroldson was elected Benton County District Attorney in November 2008, following his appointment in February 2007 by Governor Ted Kulongoski. Read more…

Visit the District Attorney's Office Web page.


Commissioner Annabelle Jaramillo

Commissioner Annabelle JaramilloAnnabelle Jaramillo first was elected to the Board of Commissioners in November 2000. Previously, Jaramillo served as Governor John Kitzhaber's Citizens' Representative from 1995 - 2000. Her office responded to citizen concerns and she was part of the Governor's senior staff. Read more…

Visit the Board of Commissioners Web page.