Benton County, Oregon

Making Benton County a Better Place to Live

http://www.co.benton.or.us/records/fees.php?
Printed on Apr 20, 2014 @ 1:57 PM

Benton County Records & Licenses – Fees

All recording fees are required to be paid at the time of recording. Documents presented for recording must be on letter or legal size white paper and must meet recording standards.

Deed Records

 

Document Type

Fee

Notes

Warranty Deed

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description

Quitclaim Deed

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description

Bargain and Sale Deed

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description

 

Mortgage Records

 

Document Type

Fee

Notes

Mortgage

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description

Deed of Trust

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description

Trust Deed

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description

Satisfaction of Mortgage

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being satisfied

Deed of Reconveyance

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being reconveyed

Deed of Partial Reconveyance

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

(1) Requires legal description (2) Requires reference number of instrument being reconveyed

Assignment Deed of Trust

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being assigned

Assignment Trust Deed

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being assigned

Modification Deed of Trust

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being modified

Affidavit of Mailing

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

ORS 086.745 & 086.750(3)

Affidavit of Publication

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

ORS 193.080

Notice of Default

Foreclosure Avoidance Mediation Program

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Additional Fees may apply

Requires reference number of instrument in default

Exemption Affidavit (Senate Bill 1552, 2012 Legislature)

Repealed

For more information see the County Clerk's Repealed by the 2013 Oregon Legislature

UCC

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description

UCC Termination

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being terminated

UCC Continuation

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being continued

Appointment Successor Trustee

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of  original instrument

 

Multi-instrument Documents

+ $5.00 per each add'l instrument

 

Document Type

Fee

Notes

Substitution of Trustee, and Deed of Reconveyance

$73.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being assigned/ reconveyed

Appointment Successor Trustee, and Deed of Reconveyance

$73.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being  reconveyed

 

Lien Instruments

 

Document Type

Fee

Notes

Lien - Construction, Hospital, etc.

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description or property address

Lien Satisfaction or Release

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being satisfied

Judgment

$16.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description

Satisfaction of Judgment

$5.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires reference number of instrument being satisfied

 

Other Documents

 

Document Type

Fee

Notes

Death Certificate

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Original certified copy

Power of Attorney

$38.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Must involve real property

Application To Exempt

$68.00 + $5.00 ea add'l page

Requires legal description

 

Plat Fees

 

Description

Fee

Partition Plats (Recorded in the Deed Record) $53
Subdivision Plats:
Board of Commissioners Approval Fee $5.00
- 20 Lots Or Less $20.00
- 21 To 29 Lots $25.00
- 30 To 49 Lots $30.00
- 50 To 74 Lots $35.00
- 75 To 100 Lots $40.00
- Over 100 Lots $40.00 Plus $.25 per additional lot
Partition Plat $20.00
Assessment and Taxation Fee + State Housing Related Fee and County Collection Service Fee $32.00 (per plat)
Oregon Land Information System Fund $1.00 (per plat)

 

Veterans' Documents (Restricted Access Records)

 

Document Type

Fee

Copies of Discharge Papers (DD214) No fee
Recording of Discharge Papers (DD214) No fee

 

Notarization, Search, Copy and Transmission Fees

 

Description

Fee

Notary Services (per signature) $10.00
Document Location/Search $3.75
Copies from computer or copier (per page) $0.25
Copies from microfilm reader/printer (per page) $1.00
Certified Copy of Recorded Document $3.75
Transmission via e-mail, FTP, to storage media, mail, fax etc. (per transmittal) $3.00

 

General Notes on Fees

  • If you do not include sufficient money or include an over payment of the correct fee, the document(s) will be returned to you unrecorded. Recording may be completed and refund checks are issued for over payments over $10. Please, provide a phone number that will allow our office to contact you if we have questions or concerns about the document you have presented to us for recording.
  • If you are unable to determine the correct fees from the information provided, you can call us or come into our office. Checks and money orders should be made out to Benton County. It is common practice for those with questions about the proper fee to include a statement in the check notation section, that the check is not to exceed $X (where "X" takes the place of the highest estimated amount authorized for recording fees). We will fill in the check with the correct recording fee and return the document(s) as indicated on each.

Note: The listing of documents in the above fee schedule is not all-inclusive. If you have additional questions regarding fees, please, contact our office at the following phone number 541-766-6831

A non-standard fee of $20.00 will be assessed on the following documents:

Trust Deed, Deed of Trust if the words “Lender is Beneficiary” does not appear on first page of instrument.

The $20.00 Non-Standard Fee may be applied to documents that do not fully comply with recording requirements. (e.g. Title of document, names of parties, poor legibility, return to info, consideration amount, etc.)

Contact our office at 541-766-6831 if you have any questions.

Notes on Fees and Recording Standards

Records and Licenses Policies: 041217

1: Space requirement, county recording ticket

1-1) The current space requirement is 2.25h x 3.0w in the upper right hand portion of the document.

If the document does not meet this requirement, the following may be applied:

1-1a) Recording cover sheet, an additional $5.00 fee will be charged.

2: Recording reproduced documents with original signatures

2-1) In accordance with the May 12, 1999, letter sent to title companies following a staff meeting decision, it was determined that staff will have the option to allow recording parties who present our office with documents of poor quality (photocopies/ facsimiles) for recording, with the option to attach a typed copy of the original page(s). The regular recording fee will be applied to each page. The attached page(s) should contain the following statement:

“Because the previous page(s) do not meet the recording standards for permanent records in Benton County, Oregon, the following is a typed reproduction of the original page(s)."

Signatures should be shown on the typed reproduction in the following manner: s/ John Doe

3: Covering information (area of recording ticket)

3-1) No information that is relevant to the document must be on the upper right hand portion of said document, if document is received with said flaw the following shall apply:

(a) Received in person; by title company, citizen, or others. The options will be that they must: 1. Provide a written statement to the effect of “permission for placement of county recording ticket authorized by.” 2. Complete a recording cover sheet.

(b) Received in mail; the document must be rejected.

Note: see definitions for some of the terms used on this page.

^ Back to top