Printed on Jul 30, 2014 @ 10:20 PM
A marriage license issued by our office may be used anywhere within the State of Oregon.
To obtain a license, the couple should complete a license application worksheet, available here in fillable PDF format:
Marriage License Worksheet (PDF, opens in new window)
This worksheet can be completed and brought into our office to help expedite the licensing process.
You must present your drivers license, passport or other government issued ID to obtain a Marriage License. No blood tests or physicals are required.
Plan on arriving no later than 4:30 p.m. to apply for your marriage license to allow sufficient time for the application process prior to closing. We do NOT issue Marriage Licenses through the mail. Both parties to the couple must apply for their Marriage License IN-PERSON. There are NO exceptions.
Payment must be received at the time of application via check, cash, money order or recognized PIN debit or credit card.
You must be 18 years of age or older to obtain a license without the consent of a parent or guardian. Persons 17 years of age may obtain a marriage license by either presenting a notarized consent form or by bringing their parent with them when they apply. No one under 17 years of age is allowed to be married in Oregon - there are no exceptions.
Marriage is prohibited when the applying parties are first cousins or nearer of kin to each other, as per Oregon Revised Statute 106.020 (2), whether of the whole or half blood, whether by blood or adoption, computing by the rules of the civil law, except that when the parties are first cousins by adoption only, the marriage is not prohibited.
Both parties must identify the legal name each will take after their marriage ceremony on the Marriage License, Application, and Record of Marriage form.
There is a three-day waiting period before the license becomes valid and the couple can get married. The waiting period can be waived for legitimate reasons, ignorance of this law or the couple just can't wait to be married are not considered legitimate reasons. The determination for the acceptance or rejection of waiver requests are made by the County Clerk or a Circuit Court Judge.
Once the license becomes effective the couple has 60 days to have a marriage ceremony performed anywhere in Oregon.
The fee for a marriage license in Benton County is $52, this includes a designer marriage certificate, and is payable at the time of application via check, cash, money order or a recognized PIN debit or credit card. Certified copies can be pre-purchased at the time of application at a reduced fee of $4 per certified copy. Certified copies are often needed when proof of marriage is required and are issued after the completed marriage license is returned to our office following the marriage ceremony.
The Records & Licenses Office accepts, cash, checks, money orders, Master Card and VISA Debit and Credit Cards, as well as, Discover Credit Cards "consumer convenience fees" are applicable to card payment options.
The fee for scheduling a civil marriage ceremony in Benton County is $100. The County Clerk offers two civil marriage ceremony time slots every other Tuesday on a first come, first serve, scheduling basis. One Tuesday civil ceremony is performed at 4:15 p.m. and the other at 4:30 p.m.
To determine if a civil ceremony time slot is available, or if you have any questions, call the Records & Licenses Office at 541-766-6831. Please, plan on paying the ceremony scheduling fee when you obtain your marriage license if you are hoping to book a civil marriage ceremony. If you already have a valid Oregon marriage license, issued by any county in the State of Oregon, you must bring it into our office in order to schedule a civil ceremony. Courthouse marriage ceremonies must be scheduled no later than the preceding business day.
If you wish to schedule a non-civil ceremony we are aware of the following individuals that may be able to assist you: Non-Civil Ceremony Contacts
A marriage license issued by The Benton County Records & Licenses Office may be used anywhere within the State of Oregon.