Advisory Boards & Other County-Affiliated Organizations

Mandated and Optional County Boards

Standing County Advisory Boards/Committees/Commissions

  • Bicycle Advisory Committee
  • Board of Property Tax Appeals (ORS 309.20)
  • Budget Committee (ORS 294.336)
  • Charter Review Committee
  • Citizen Advisory Committees (per County Comprehensive Plan) 
  • Community Health Centers of Benton and Linn Counties Board
  • Courthouse Preservation Committee
  • Courthouse Security Committee
  • Emergency Medical Advisory Committee
  • Environmental Issues Advisory Committee
  • Fair Board (ORS 565.210)
  • Food Service Advisory Committee (ORS 624.550)
  • Fort Hoskins Technical Advisory Committee
  • Historic Resources Commission (ORS 358.622)
  • Hospital Facilities Authority of Benton County (ORS 441.525)
  • Jackson-Frazier Wetland Advisory Committee
  • Law Enforcement Review Committee
  • Law Library Committee
  • Mental Health, Addictions and Developmental Disabilities Advisory Committee
  • Natural Areas and Parks Board
  • Planning Commission (ORS 215.020)
  • Public Health Planning Advisory Committee
  • Roads Advisory Committee
  • Solid Waste/Disposal Site Advisory Council (ORS 459.320)
  • Special Transportation Advisory Committee (ORS 391.820)

County Service Districts

  • Alpine, Alsea, Alsea Human Services, Cascade View, Library, North Albany, South Third

Multi-Jurisdiction Boards


  • Corvallis-Benton County Library Board
  • Economic Development Advisory Board
  • Enterprise Zone Advisory Committee
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Commission (city mandated)


  • Community Alliance for Diversity Steering Committee (county employee appointee)
  • Community Services Consortium Community Action Advisory Council
  • Linn-Benton Housing Authority (ORS 456.095)
  • Linn-Benton Loop Transit Commission
  • Local Public Safety Coordinating Council (ORS 423.560)
  • Willamette Criminal Justice Council (serving as the Local Public Safety Coordinating Council of Benton County)
  • Workforce Investment Board

Additional Governing Boards on which Commissioners Serve

  • Albany Area Metropolitan Planning Organization
  • Area Commission on Transportation
  • Association of Oregon Counties
  • Business Enterprise Center
  • Cascade Pacific Resource Conservation and Development
  • Community Services Consortium Board 
  • Corvallis Area Metropolitan Planning Organization
  • Economic Vitality Partnership
  • InterCommunity Health Network Coordinated Care Organization
  • Oregon Cascade West Council of Governments

County Affiliated Organizations

  • Benton County OSU Extension Service

County Road Districts

  • Brownly-Marshall, Chinook, Country Estates, Mary's River Estates, McDonald Forest Estates, North F Street, Oakwood Heights, Ridgewood, Rosewood Estates, Vineyard Mountain, Westwood Hills

NOTE: The County also maintains six service and twelve road districts

Regular Boards are those that either state-required or the County has chosen to establish. Benton County Counsel prepares the bylaws under which the boards function. Applicants are recruited from county residents.

External Boards are those which the Board of Commissioners is asked to either recommend appointments or to officially appoint applicants recommended by the external board itself. An agency other than County Counsel prepares the bylaws under which the boards function. Applicants are recruited from the public and/or the Commissioners or their designees.