Public Health – Tobacco Prevention
Oregon Smokefree Workplace Law
Effective January 1, 2016, the State of Oregon has joined the efforts of Corvallis and Benton County to protect everyone’s right to breathe clean air. The Oregon Smokefree Workplace Law has expanded to include the use of “inhalant delivery systems.” This means that the use of e-cigarettes and other vaping devices are prohibited indoors and within ten feet of doors, windows that open, air intake vents and accessibility ramps.
How to Comply:
- Prohibit smoking and vaping within 10 feet of all entrances, exits, accessibility ramps, windows and air-intake vents.
- Replace existing “No Smoking within 10 feet” signs with signs that say, “No Vaping” at all building entrances and exits.
- Encourage and support employees and customers who smoke or vape to quit.
- Encourage them to call Oregon’s toll-free Quit Line at 1-800-QUIT-NOW (800-784-8669) or, for Spanish 1-855-DEJELO-YA (1-855-335356-92)
For more information, or to download “No Smoking or Vaping within 10 feet” signs, please visit the Oregon Health Authority webpage at http://healthoregon.org/morefreshair.
Signs are also available by request by contacting Alicia Griggs at Alicia.Griggs@co.benton.or.us or (541) 766-6033.
Enforcement of the Law
The new law places the responsibility on business owners to maintain a smokefree environment. Individuals who smoke will not be cited for smoking inside or outside a business. Oregon business owners or employers found in violation of the law are subject to a fine of not more than $500 per day with a maximum of $4,000 in any 30-day period.
Report Violations of the Law, using the online complaint form. For More Information About the Law, please visit www.healthoregon.org/smokefree
Benton County Tobacco-Free Property
To promote the health and safety of our community, Benton County property is tobacco-free. Smoking, vaping, and other tobacco use is prohibited indoors and outdoors on all facilities and grounds. For more information, please refer to the Frequently Asked Questions.
Oregon Landlord Disclosure Law
As of January 1, 2010, Oregon law requires landlords to notify tenants of their smoking rules as they sign new lease agreements. The law states that the rental agreement "must include a disclosure of the smoking policy for the premises on which the dwelling is located."
If you are interested in developing a smoke and/or tobacco free housing policy, please contact Alicia Griggs at Alicia.Griggs@co.benton.or.us or (541) 766-6033.