Historic Resources Commission

Our Mission

The Benton County Historic Resources Commission's mission includes:

  • Reviewing and maintaining a Cultural Resources Survey for the County
  • Reviewing sites for eligibility and placement on the Benton County Register
  • Promoting the use and preservation of historic resources
  • Providing technical assistance to owners who wish to improve their historic properties
  • Seeking funding and professional assistance for survey, planning, repair, maintenance, rehabilitation, and restoration of historic resources
  • Promoting public awareness and interest in Benton County historic resources
  • Reviewing applications for demolition permits and building permits for exterior alterations of structures listed on the Benton County Register of Historic Resources
Our Members

The commission is composed of seven members: one each from the Benton County Historical Society, historical resources protection community, construction industry or architectural community, real estate community, and historical structure resident community; also two from the public at large. The commission members serve for a term of three years, and may be re-appointed.

Position Name/Address Re-appointed
Architectural Historian, Benton County Historical Society
Larry Landis
Construction Industry, Vice-Chair Scott McClure 06/16/15
Historic Resources Protection Cody Hull
Owner of Historic Property Doug Eaton
Public-At-Large Patti Thrall
Public-At-Large Vacant  
Architecture or Real Estate Vacant  


Click any thumbnail image to view a slideshow

Bellfountain School House
Frantz Historic Home
Frantz Historic Home
Fort Hoskins
Hanson Homestead
Koac Historic Building
Soap Creek School House