Public Notice: Due to the Declared Emergency related to the COVID-19 Pandemic; Please, do NOT come to this office in-person unless you have submitted an online marriage license application and have made an appointment to enter the building and acquire the license. For other business needs, please call for instructions to effectively use our drop box and will call service located at the Courthouse, 4th Street, 1st floor security entrance.
NOTE: Most of the services we provide can be completed by phone, mail, fax and email. We apologize for any inconvenience this might create and ask for your patience and understanding.
The Records & Licenses office will be closed on Monday, January 18th, 2021, in observance of Martin Luther King day.
A marriage licenses issued may be used anywhere within the State of Oregon. However, the license must be returned to the issuing county following the marriage ceremony.
Marriage License Application Rules and Regulations
You must present your drivers license, passport or other government issued ID to obtain a marriage license. No blood tests or physicals are required.
When applying for your marriage license, please, plan on arriving no later than 4:00 p.m. to allow sufficient time for the application process. We do NOT issue marriage licenses through the mail. Both parties to the couple must complete the marriage license application process IN-PERSON. There are NO exceptions.
Payment must be received at the time of application via check, cash, money order or recognized PIN debit or credit card.
You must be 18 years of age or older to obtain a license without the consent of a parent or guardian. Persons 17 years of age may obtain a marriage license by either presenting a notarized consent form or by bringing their parent or legal guardian with them when they apply. No person under 17 years of age is allowed to be married in Oregon - there are NO exceptions.
As required in ORS 106.050, we require identification sufficient to determine that each person applying for the license is eligible to be married in the State of Oregon. If a person does not have a driver's license, passport or other identifying government issued documentation the County Clerk may require a birth certificate along with other identifying documentation deemed acceptable, prior to issuing the license. If determined necessary, the Clerk may require a notarized affidavit of some person other than either of the parties seeking the marriage license attesting to the applicant's age and identity.
Marriage is prohibited when the applying parties are first cousins or nearer of kin to each other, as per Oregon Revised Statute 106.020 (2), whether of the whole or half blood, whether by blood or adoption, computing by the rules of the civil law, except that when the parties are first cousins by adoption only, the marriage is not prohibited.
Both parties must identify the legal name each will take after their marriage ceremony on the Marriage License, Application, and Record of Marriage form.
There is a three-day waiting period before the license becomes valid and the couple can get married. The waiting period can be waived for legitimate reasons; ignorance of this law or the couple just can't wait to be married are not considered legitimate reasons. The determination for the acceptance or rejection of waiver requests are made by the County Clerk or a Circuit Court Judge.
Once the license becomes effective the couple has 60 days to have a marriage ceremony performed anywhere in Oregon.
*NEW* Submit your marriage license application online, then come into our office to pay the fees and obtain the documents for your marriage ceremony. Please arrive within 30 days of submitting the online application form or the application will need to be resubmitted. We delete all application data after 30 days if the couple does not come into our office to obtain their license. PLEASE NOTE: Applicants must obtain their Marriage License in-person at the Benton County Courthouse before the three-day waiting period and license period take effect.
Marriage License Fees
The fee for a marriage license in Benton County is $52; this includes a designer marriage certificate, and is payable at the time of application via check, cash, money order or a recognized PIN debit or credit card. Certified copies can be pre-purchased at the time of application at a reduced fee of $4 per certified copy. Certified copies are often needed when proof of marriage is required and are issued after the completed marriage license is returned to our office following the marriage ceremony.
The Records & Licenses Division accepts, cash, checks, money orders, Master Card and VISA Debit and Credit Cards, as well as, Discover Credit Cards. "Consumer convenience fees" are applicable to card payment options.
The fee for scheduling a civil marriage ceremony in Benton County is $117. The County Clerk offers two civil marriage ceremony time slots every other Tuesday on a first come, first served scheduling basis. The first ceremony is performed at 4:15 p.m. and the other at 4:30 p.m. on the scheduled dates.
Marriage Ceremonies (Civil Ceremonies have been SUSPENDED until further notice)
To determine if a civil ceremony time slot is available, or if you have any questions, call the Records & Licenses Office at 541-766-6831. Please plan on paying the ceremony scheduling fee when you obtain your marriage license, if you wish to book a civil marriage ceremony. If you already have a valid Oregon marriage license, issued by any county in the State of Oregon, you must bring it into our office in order to schedule a civil ceremony. Courthouse marriage ceremonies must be scheduled no later than the preceding business day.
If you wish to schedule a non-civil ceremony we are aware of the following individuals that may be able to assist you: Non-Civil Ceremony Contacts